A little insight into the seven main energy centers of the body known as the chakras.

The word chakra comes from the sanskrit word for "wheel". The chakras are believed to be spinning disks of energy. They are located at seven main points throughout the center-line of the body. Each chakra is associated with its own sound, color and bodily functions. Below is a brief indtroduction to each chakra.


Muladhara is the root chakra located at the base of the spine (the perineum). It's color is red and it is associated with connection to the earth, groundedness and stability.


Svadhisthana is the sexual chakra. It is located approximately two fingers width below the navel. It's color is orange and it is associated with creativity, receptivity and the reproductive organs.

Solar Plexus

Manipura is the solar plexus, or power, chakra. This chakra is located at the solar plexus in the pit of the stomach, below the diaphragm. It's color is yellow and it is associated with willpower, energy and instinct.


Anahata is the chakra located at the center of the chest, or the heart. It's color is green and it is associated with love, healing and union.


Visuddha is the throat chakra, which is located at the larynx, or vocal chords. This chakra focuses on communication, speech and expression. The color associated with this chakra is sky blue.

Third Eye

The Ajna chakra is the third eye chakra, located between the eyebrows. At this chakra, we are able to connect with our conciousness, thought and meditation. It is associated with the color indigo.


Sahasrara is the crown chakra, located at the crown of the head. It's color is violet and represents a connection to the spirit or divine.

Source: Sacred Art Yoga 2019

If you are interested in learning more about the science behind the Chakras, visit this site for more information. This source goes in depth about the nerve bundles and physiological factors that go hand-in-hand with these seven main chakras.